Negronis (p. 67)

It was the first day of summer, so it was time to try making Negronis. Here’s the recipe as written:

  • 3/4 oz. Old Mr. Boston Dry Gin
  • 3/4 oz. Campari bitters
  • 3/4 oz. Sweet or Dry Vermouth
  • 3/4 oz. soda water

Pour over ice cubes in Old Fashioned cocktail glass and stir lightly.

20170621_190049.jpgNotes on prep: Like James Bond, Chris likes his drinks shaken not stirred, so he deviated from the recipe and shook this up. My mom always said that Bond’s drink preference was a signal that he wasn’t “old money,” because real classy folks always stirred their drinks. I like this idea, and I like watching my husband shake up a tumbler full of booze for me. We used Seagram’s gin and sweet vermouth. Maybe we’ll try it with dry vermouth in another post sometime; sounds like it’d be way more martini-like, which I dig, in theory.

Liz’s Take: I always really want to like Negronis– they’re pretty and rosy pink and summery and light– but I find Campari a bit too bitter without something sweet to cut it. I like it better at home than I’ve ever liked it at a bar (do they always add soda water?), but I still find it a touch acerbic. Chris tossed one of the cherries into mine, and I really like it with the Campari. Maybe next time I make one, I’ll throw some of the cherry juice in and see what it does.

Chris’s Take: I was raised Mormon, and as a result, I was deprived of two of life’s most important pleasures…coffee and booze. The first time I ever had coffee (at 15), a similarly wandering soul dared me to drink a shot of espresso. It was so bitter that I almost retched right there, outside the Barnes & Nobles that was connected the Old Navy. The next time I tried it, it was brimming with so much chocolate that I was able to choke it down with nary a whimper. Today, I drink it black. It’s been a long journey. This awesome drink is the reward. Go make it immediately, and drink it while watching Saturday’s Warrior for me.

Our Ratings:20170621_192532

  • Prep: Easy
  • Ingredient Accessibility: Easy
  • Price: Medium (Campari is a little spendy, but a little goes a long way)
  • Taste: Bitter, light, refreshing

Final Verdict: Chris would definitely order this at a bar. Liz is working on her bitter palate, so maybe she would, too.

Leave a Reply

